Qur`aan Update

Alhamdulillaah, I’m pretty happy with the way things are going with Junayd’s memorisation – tabaarakAllaah – he’s progressing nicely. The way I teach him is:

1. I recite the particular soorah all the way through – from beginning to end – getting him to listen to me.

2. I get him to repeat the aayah we are focusing on. He repeats after me – we do this until I see that he has grasped the jist of the aayah.

3. We then do a ‘five-finger count’ of the aayah – here we recite the aayah together five times, counting off each recitation on our fingers.

4. I then get him to recite the aayah to me.

This method has proved very successful mashaa`Allaah and the repetition has allowed him to actually grasp an aayah a day (I must confess, I don’t it so thoroughly every day, but I try!), tabaarakAllaahu ta’aala.

All praise is due to Allaah ta’aala. May He allow this memorisation to be of benefit to my son (and all those who seek to memorise His Perfect Words) and allow us to actually put what we learn into practice, aameen.

~ Umm Junayd.

One thought on “Qur`aan Update

  1. As salaamu alaykum,

    We use our fingers to count our recitations as well. I think it helps keep them focused more. We usually start with ten fingers up and count down. I also made up some “Hifz Helpers” as I call them on my site. Its a little chart with numbered squares and after every ten squares of there is a little picture of food that they work towards. I have found that my younger kids need aids like the fingers or this to stay interested on task.

    JazakAllahu kheyr for sharing your tips. I love to read what others are doing.

Leave a Reply

