Trying to Read

**phew!**

It’s been such a long time since the last update, hasn’t it? I’ve been busy, busy, busy, mashaa`Allaah: writing, studying, trying to teach, amongst other things. All praise is due to Allaah in all circumstances.

I say I have been trying to teach… I say this because things are getting side-tracked, subhaanAllaah. Junayd has moved on to a level where he knows quite a bit, mashaa`Allaah, and now I have to THINK more to teach him new things that aren’t going to be too daunting. He’s at the ‘how do things work’ stage and now I have to do more research to appease his curiosity, mashaa`Allaah.

Now, for the title of this post.

Well, as it says we’re trying to read. Actually, I obviously know how to read, alhamdulillaah, it’s Junayd who I’m trying to get to read. We’re not doing the whole phonics thing yet, as I feel he has yet to fully connect each letter with its sound. Yes, we did the alphabet learning Montessori style, but putting the sounds together (otherwise known as ‘blending’) just doesn’t seem to be as smooth as I had envisioned. So, what are we doing?

We are sounding out words without actually looking at them. For instance:

“Junayd, please S-T-O-P.”

I say “stop” in this phonetical breakdown a couple of times and he catches on, tabaarakAllaah. I’m hoping that this will ease the whole reading stage because I REALLY do not wish to get frustrated over something that my son loves doing, but can’t do.

~ Umm Junayd.

2 thoughts on “Trying to Read

  1. as salaamu `alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh πŸ™‚

    I keep checking for an update so get on it πŸ˜› I like hearing about Junayd!

  2. Wa ‘alaikumus-salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.

    Ah… yes, an update is in order. I will post soon inshaa`Allaah – all my blogs are rather dead!

Leave a Reply

