Who’s the Teacher?

When I teach Junayd the Qur`aan, I recite and then get him to repeat after me. Mashaa`Allaah, his recitation of soorah al-Faatiha is nearly ‘perfect’ (well according to my standards!). His articulation of the last two aayaat are still quite shaky, but he’s come a long way in the last 6 months, mashaa`Allaah.

Now, though, it seems that the tables have turned. When I tell Junayd to recite or try to ‘touch up’ his recitation, he shouts [and sometimes pokes me]

“You don’t say it, I say it!”

Well, what can I say? Nothing apparently. I’ve got an upcoming teacher, it seems. Alhamdulillaah ‘alaa kulli haal (All praise is due to Allaah for everything/ in all situations).

~ Umm Junayd.

Leave a Reply

