TIP: Wash, Wash & Dry!

Now that winter is setting in, the laundry seems to be piling up – there’s no way clothes get dry outside because the cold just doesn’t do it. If you’re like me, you may well have piles of clothes to wash (or maybe you don’t, but I put it down to the essential nappy washing – yep! My lil R’s got a cotton bottom mashaa`Allaah).

How do you combat this and school too? For me it’s the drying space. Up until earlier this week, I had a very small airer to spread the clothes on. This was NOT proving to be efficient as I could only get one load done a day. However, I purchased a three-tier airer which has been fantastic mashaa`Allaah. I put a load in, it gets washed, I place them on the airer and another load gets into the washing machine. To keep the washing pile low I usually get 2 loads done in a day – one usually being a nappy load, and if not, them a set of whites and a set of darks.

So the key? Keeping up with the loads and more importantly, having the appropriate airing space to do so!

~ Umm Junayd.

6 thoughts on “TIP: Wash, Wash & Dry!

  1. Wa ‘alaikumus-salaam Mona.
    Nope, it isn’t me. I have a tumble dryer with my washing machine, but I don’t like using it for the clothes because it causes our electricity bills to be higher than necessary. I use them for the nappies once in a while to give them some ‘fluff’.
    ~ Umm Junayd.

  2. Wa ‘alaikumus-salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.

    **faints** How’d you do it Iman? For me washing the clothes by hand isn’t SUCH a big deal (I’ve had to do it at times the washing machine kicked in) but it’s the NAPPIES.. oh the smell! **faints again**

    ~ Umm J.

  3. Assalaamu Alaykum Umm Junayd,

    I’m very interested in using re-useable nappies.

    Could I possibly e-mail you or you e-mail me I have a few queries and need to ask a pro 😉

    Wassalaam

Leave a Reply

