Learning Poster

Assalaamu 'alaikum.

I've taken the initiative of trying – and modifying – the weekly lessons found on the Letter of the Week website. Inshaa`Allaah we'll be doing a modified version of the Preparatory Curriculum. Here's our finished Learning Poster for next week – it's been out up already to get Junayd familiar with the whole concept and mashaa`Allaah hubby's impressedso far although we've done nothing yet!

Learning Poster

 

I actually need to add the Arabic alphabet letter for the week too. So inshaa`Allaah we'll have somethingto focus on for each day of next week. It all makes me feel a little better knowing that we will be doing something each day, even if it be one activity/ them/ concept.

I'm trying to get him to recite soorah al-Faatiha properly, but it's a little difficult since he finds it hard to articulate certain letters – 'l' for example. Suggestions regarding this are most welcome!

Was-salaamu 'alaikum
~ Umm Junayd.

2 thoughts on “Learning Poster

  1. Assalaamu Alaikum UJ.
    I love reading your stuff (all blogs) Masha Allah! I have a 3 year old who also has difficulty articulating certain letters. But my 6 and 4 year old were the same and with time they were alright Alhamdulillah. Some knowledge of Tajweed helps here to get them to learn the correct articulation points when reciting Qur’an. But, don’t worry too much. I think your son is still young. I try to do some drills now and again with my son (the way they do at Qur’an school). At the same time, I don’t want him to feel too pressured as he tends to give up or rebel then. May Allah make it easy for us all.
    Assalaamu Alaikum.

  2. Wa ‘alaikumus-salaam Umm Haajar.

    Ah, lovely comment mashaa`Allaah. With regards to the Qur`aan, we’re getting there inshaa`Allaah. He still finds it hard to articulate letters, but I just keep repeating for him to pick it up inshaa`Allaah. Alhamdulillaah, I’ve studied tajweed years ago, so this isn’t a factor, he tends to ‘skip’ bits, but I try to remind myself that I can only ‘lead him to the water’ and it’s him who will decide whether to ‘drink it or not’. I hope that makes sense!

    Was-salaamu ‘alaikum
    ~ Umm Junayd.

Leave a Reply

