Letter ‘a’

Assalaamu 'alaikum.

I've come to the realisation that Junayd just doesn't like to sit down and learn things in order, per say. He's more of a 'I wanna take my time' kinda guy. So, in accordance with this, inshaa`Allaah we'll be doing a weekly letter focus, using the Montessori 'learn the sound before the letter' method.

Today we naturally begun with the letter 'a'. I'm not too sure when I should begin with the Arabic alphabet (any suggestions on what you did would be useful).

I sung this little song for him which he thoroughly enjoyed mashaa`Allaah (remember it's the sound of the letter and not the name):

 /a/ is for apple
/a/, /a/, /a/
/a/ is for apple
/a/, /a/, /a/

A round juicy apple
/a/, /a/, /a/
Allaah made it sweet
/a/, /a/, /a/

/a/ is for apple
/a/, /a/, /a/
/a/ is for apple
/a/, /a/, /a/

Allaah made it sweet
/a/, /a/, /a/
Sweet for me to eat
/a/, /a/, /a/

© Umm Junayd, June 2006.

Inshaa`Allaah we will be doing animals and other things which begin with 'a' and more exploring. Insha`Allaah it'll prove more successful than sitting him down saying 'a', 'b', 'c' and so on.

Was-salaamu 'alaikum

~ Umm Junayd.

5 thoughts on “Letter ‘a’

  1. as salaamu `alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh

    I love reading about your experiments, trials and successes with Junayd. I do hope you will keep it up – it will be so helpful for others starting out in shaa Allah. I know I will need this for little Cookie *S* She seems to be very different from her sister.

    Jazakillah khayran for your encouragement… I needed it *S* I’ll try to talk about my ‘secrets’ soon… LOL. You’ll laugh when you realise how little I actually do hehe…

  2. Salam Alaykum,

    http://www.letteroftheweek.com might have some useful tips. Although I think it focuses more on the letter name before the sound, I’m sure some of the ideas could be useful.

    I hope, insha-Allah, that your efforts will be successful.

  3. Wa ‘alaikumus-salaam.

    Oh.. that website is SO useful mashaa`Allaah! I remember coming across it a while back but hadn’t bookmarked it. I have now!

    Jazaakillaahu khairaa!

    Was-salaamu ‘alaikum
    ~ Umm Junayd.

  4. Pingback: Kindergarten Help/Ideas « Lilmuallim’s Blog

  5. It was a pleasure reading about how you’re teaching your child and I really learned alot from you thank you so much even if its too late because as I can see the date it’s too late to thank you now Jazakumallah khayran

Leave a Reply

