Which Method?

Assalaamu ‘alaikum.

Many homeschoolers have adopted a particular teaching/ schooling method as it helps them to remain focused on the way they want to take things. I previously thought I was one of these people until I took a good look at what methods are out there. For your information, I’ve added a page listing the different schooling methods and there are links for further information.

Due to my own ‘organisation freak‘ background having studied Law for a year being a Law student, I feel the need to have a schedule so I know what I should be doing and when I should be doing it. However, I also like flexibility because weird events always pop up which forces you to change your plans.

So, at the moment I’m a bit of a traditionalist who’s dabbling in the shallow waters of the Montessori method – so I guess that would generally make me an Eclectic Homeschooler.

Confused? Don’t be – here’s a the page I mentioned earlier: Homeschooling Methods

What type of schooler are you?

Was-salaamu ‘alaikum

~ Umm Junayd.

2 thoughts on “Which Method?

  1. Asalaam ‘Alaikum:

    As I’m sure you know – I believe I am also an Eclectic Homeschooler. Just can’t commit to any one method as I don’t like/agree with everything. However, I see a lot that is useful and works for us.

    Asalaam ‘alaikum,
    Sumayyah Umm Sadiqah wa Asma

  2. as salaamu `alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh

    Umm J, to be honest, there are days when I am just trying to keep my head above water. I just try to do what is right by Allah and family. I get Classical moments, Charlotte Mason inspired, Waldorf days and think eclectic. I used to get stressed… OK I still do LOL… and then I think, whatever. We are happy, we learn as much as we can and me, I try to keep sane haha. So… eclectic we are!

Leave a Reply

